Leading by guidance not arrogance.

Posted: February 27, 2015 in Cycling

All too often we find ourselves in a situation that we could show the way forward for someone but instead of doing that we feel the need to show off instead and by demonstrating how good you are at something the person receiving the arrogance is scared away or just doesn’t trust you. 

How does this happen you might be wondering? 

Well many people don’t see themselves as leaders and do not see that they are somehow supporting others with questions that they might have, and by doing this they could possibly be giving up on the possibilities of being a leader. It could be due to a fear and it could also be due to something they have been told before. 

For example: you don’t know what you are doing so why do you even try? 

On the other hand some teachers feel the need to float thier own boat by making sure that they show off their skills at every opportunity possible, this causes a large rift in what potentially could be learned in these type of situations. 

For example: I demonstrate at every hockey training with my group how to hit a hockey ball. Sometimes I find myself missing the ball and this immediately shifts into a mode of “I am only human” I am allowed to miss the ball sometimes. What I have realized is every time I miss the ball it is actually life’s way of telling me not to show off. 

Without showing off I know that things come naturally and because I have trained to hit the ball and I have practiced how to play the game I do not have to show off.

There is always a time where all the training and practice will be forgotten because in the end I am only human but that’s not an excuse to show off it is just a good enough reason to work harder and remain humble with the gifts and lessons I have received along the way! 

In closing this is a very good lesson for me to pay attention to so that I do not find myself losing the respect of my students but it’s also a good lesson because I am not always aware of when I might be supporting someone with their own lessons. 

To be humble in defeat is more of an achievement than to be arrogant when you win! 

Leave a comment